Congratulations to the University of Tampa Spartans! The Spartans defeated Colorado Mesa 3-1 to clinch the 2019 DII National Championship. This is their eighth national championship and third title in the last ten years. Since 2006, the Spartans have won five national championships under head coach Joe Urso in his 19th season as the UT coach.

Tampa All-American left fielder Yorvis Torrealba broke a tie in the seventh-inning with two-outs, two-run single, and Jacinto Arredondo pitched the last two innings for the win. Spartans finished the season on an 11-game winning streak, a season-high.

The MVP of the NCAA DII Championship Series goes to junior right-hander, Jacinto Arredondo. In four appearances, Arredondo pitched 8.1 innings, struck out eight, allowed only two walks and one hit.

The Spartans are one of the most successful baseball programs in the history of Division II having won eight national titles: 1992, 1993, 1998, 2006, 2007, 2013, 2015, 2019. Head coach Joe Urso has led his team to four national championships since 2006, as UT is the only team with multiple championships in Cary, with two. This is UT's 34th NCAA tournament appearance as the Spartans have won 18 regional titles.

Congrats to The Spartans! You make Tampa proud! 

For more sports news in Tampa, connect with us on 813area, we're your free guide to the city and cover all the fun things to do in Tampa! 

Cover from The University of Tampa Athletic Department